LGBT Couples & Quotes

 

I’m feeling sentimental, so I’ve decided to do a page dedicated to my favourite quotes from LGBT characters in fiction. These quotes are usually about love & relationships, and I really recommend every book and series I mention. I have mentioned some of these books on previous posts, but these quotes give you a better look at the writer’s style, and the characters themselves. I have copies of all these books, but I used the Goodreads website to get them, so if you love books I recommend joining  that website 🙂

Gay_flag.svg
The Pride Flag

Magnus Bane

Magnus Bane is the 800 year old, self-titled “freewheeling Bisexual” high warlock of Brooklyn, from Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter Chronicles. Magnus is sensitive, overconfident, insecure, and incredibly passionate person. He has loved for centuries watch the people he loves leave him, and that makes for some pretty interesting/heart breaking story lines. In The Mortal Instruments his love interest is Alec Lightwood, and their story is so beautiful that they shot straight to the top of my Shadowhunter OTPs list.  Picking one of Magnus’s quotes is difficult because he is a walking meme, but I think it would have to be this one:

“Still I pictured having you for fifty, sixty more years. I thought I might be ready then to let you go. But it’s you, and I realize now that I won’t be anymore ready to lose you then than I am right now. Which is not at all.”

― Cassandra ClareCity of Fallen Angels

 

Alexander “Alec” Lightwood

Oh Alec. Clumsy, snarky, protective, insecure, funny, loving, Alec. When I was reading City of Bones I didn’t like Alec, because I didn’t understand why he was being so rude to Clary, I thought it was just jealously. But he is so much more complex than that. His coming out story was so wonderfully written and watching his character develop over the books made me feel like a proud mama! I was going to choose a romantic quote for Alec but then I thought I might entice you to read the series by offering one of his more sassy moments…

“I did not make a pie, for three reasons. One, because I do not have any pie ingredients. Two, because I don’t actually know how to make a pie.”
He paused, clearly waiting.
Removing his sword and leaning it against the cave wall, Jace said warily, “And three?”
“Because I am not your bitch,” Alec said, clearly pleased with himself.”
– Cassandra ClareCity of Heavenly Fire

 

Mark and Jonathan

I discovered Hemovore by Jordan Castillo Price, through a recommendation on Goodreads, and I was not disappointed by this book. A brief overview of this book is that it set in a world where vampires are referred to a “V-Positives” and the whole vampire thing is treated as a virus. Mark is an assistant to the v positive artist Jonathan, and he is also pretty in love with him. This book is funny, and full of action, yet it never takes itself too seriously which is very refreshing. And my chosen quote is……

“Jonathan gave me a look that could wither a philodendron, and then sighed.

“If I ever get to kiss you, I promise I will not be motioning for someone behind you to pull the trigger”
Jordan Castillo Price – Hemovore

 

Dante and Aristotle

Read this book. This book was beautifully written and the chemistry between the characters was just…I can’t even. Seriously people READ THIS BOOK!! There were so many quotes that I could have chosen from this book, but I think I’ll go with something short and sweet. Yes this summary is tiny because I can’t talk about this book without giving everything away and I want people to read it!!!

“How could I ever had been ashamed of loving Dante Quintana?”
–  Benjamin Alire Saenz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the secrets of the   Universe

 

Ronan & Adam

Ronan Lynch is probably my favourite character in The Raven Cycle series. And that is probably because he is such an interesting character. He does drag racing (no the RuPaul kind), he goes to church, he is able to bring things from dreams, and the only lesson he cares about is Latin. He is also the kind of friend that will insult you for three days straight but then start a fight if someone else insults you. Ronan’s sexuality is written beautifully and you should read this series for the Ronan/Adam banter alone. Adam is my second favourite character he is a character who has a difficult background and finds it almost impossible to rely on anyone for anything. The First quote is said by Ronan, the second is thought by Adam about Ronan.

“I am being perfectly fucking civil.”

― Maggie StiefvaterThe Dream Thieves

“Making Ronan Lynch smile felt as charged as making a bargain with Cabeswater. These were not forces to play with.”
― Maggie StiefvaterThe Raven King

 

Severin & Ben

This possibly the shortest book on the list, but Darkest Part of the Forrest is the perfect book for anyone who loves fairtyales. It is set in a town that just accepts that there are Faeries in the woods surrounding the town. They not only accept the Faeries, they actually use them as tourism! It’s a modern fairy tale with a badass heroine and a super cute LGBT couple, where both of the people in the couple are interesting and well written. What more can you ask for?

“I need to stop fantasizing about running away to some other life and start figuring out the one I have.”
― Holly BlackThe Darkest Part of the Forest

 

Valentina & Jameston

Valentina is the first transgender character that I have read about in a YA novel. The way Holly deals with this character is very impressive, as the idea of wanting to be a vampire to prevent your body from changing to become more male is something that I had never even considered. Jameston acceptance and love for Valentina is extremely sweet. Valentina may not be the main character of this novel, but she does steal the show at times.

“I wasn’t born a girl, at least not on the outside.”
– Holly Black, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

 

Simon

I am not going to say too much about Simon and his significant other because it will be a huge spoiler for the book. This book was incredibly funny, clever and actually surprised me. The characters are well written, the romance is believable, and the thoughts and feelings of the characters are incredibly realistic. The quote I’ve chosen is about assumptions, and this quote really struck a chord with me, and I hope it encourages you to go a read this wonderful book.

“White shouldn’t be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn’t even be a default.”
Becky AlbertalliSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

 

Achilles & Patroclus

One of my classical/mythological otps!!! The debate about whether or not Patroclus and Achilles were lovers continues today. I personally believe that Achilles and Patroclus were in love. Even if they were never in a sexual relationship, I don’t think you can read the Iliad without feeling the love between the two characters. The film Troy butchered this relationship by having the two be cousins, (god forbid men show love for other men), but this book really shows the bond between these two characters. It’s well written, romantic, action packed, and kind of a tear jerker. A must read for anyone who is a but of a classics nerd.

“In the darkness, two shadows, reaching through the hopeless, heavy dusk. Their hands meet, and light spills in a flood like a hundred golden urns pouring out of the sun.”
― Madeline MillerThe Song of Achilles

Honorable Mentions

Helen & Aline – these ladies weren’t my favourite pairing in The Shadowhunter Chronicles, but they do become the first Lesbian Shadowhunter wedding!

Mark & Keiran – this book only came out this year, and all the quotes I wanted to use are too spoilery so I’ll be saving these guys for another list. But their relationship did make me into a complete trash shipper…

Anna Lightwood – This character is set to appear in the new Shadowhunter series: The Last Hours, and will be the first gender fluid character in the series.  Anna will also be a bisexual living in Edwardian London so that should be interesting…

Margaret and Selina – these two ladies enter into a very strange relationship in Sarah Waters Book Affinity. They didn’t make the cut because I was disappointed in the ending of the book.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. H. Graham says:

    Yeah, so this was relevant to my interests; I’ve just opened a .doc file entitled “BOOKS TO READ!!!!” becuase of this post.

    (By the way, the Miller quote has just given me serious Achilles/Patroclus feels. I’m off over to AO3.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Song of Achilles gave me serious feels. I may have cried a little 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment